Section 1

News & Announcements

Mon, 29 Sep 2014

Miller Prize 2014 followup: A Q&A with Jake Bowers

Political science professor Jake Bowers, along with PS PhD candidate Mark M. Fredrickson and recent PhD grad Costas Panagopoulos, won the prestigious Miller Prize, awarded by the Society for Political Methodology, earlier this year for their paper published in Political Analysis, “Reasoning about Interference Between Units: A General Framework.” (You can find the paper online until next summer here.) Bowers sat down recently with the editor of Political Analysis, R. Michael Alvarez, for a question-and-answer session; you can find a record of their conversation on the Oxford University Press's weblog.

Tue, 23 Sep 2014

The Scots Stay Put: A Minute With Political Science Professor Brian Gaines

Scotland and the United Kingdom seemed bound for a breakup last Thursday (Sept. 18), but stepped back from the brink. By a 55-45 percent vote, the Scots rejected independence. Brian Gaines is a political scientist at Illinois who has taught British politics and supervised a program that sent undergraduates to intern in the British Parliament. He even has Scottish roots through a grandfather. Gaines discussed the independence vote with News Bureau social sciences editor Craig Chamberlain. You can read this article on the News Bureau's own website here.

Fri, 22 Aug 2014

Department of Political Science announces expanded Civic Leadership Program

The Department of Political Science is pleased to announce the launch of our expanded Civic Leadership Program for undergraduates! The CLP is designed to create a stream of highly motivated, exceptionally capable, ethically aware, and broadly-trained individuals who will be prepared to assume leadership positions in civic affairs in both the private and the public domains. We offer two paths to participation: a Concentration in Civic Leadership (for PS majors) and a Minor in Political and Civic Leadership (for students majoring in other fields). For more information on the program and an application, please visit the Forms page in the Undergraduate section of our department's website at pol.illinois.edu/undergraduates/forms/.

Tue, 10 Jun 2014

Bowers, Fredrickson, and Panagopoulos awarded Society for Political Methodology's Miller Prize

Jake Bowers and Mark Fredrickson of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Costas Panagopoulos of Fordham University, are the 2014 winners of the Society for Political Methodology's 2014 Miller Prize for the best article published in Political Analysis for their article "Reasoning about Interference in Randomized Studies." The SPM is the methodology section of the American Political Science Association. More details about the award are available on the SPM's website.

Section 2


Section 3


11/3/2014 | 12:00 pm

Comparative Politics Workshop

404 David Kinley Hall

11/7/2014 | 12:00 pm

Methods Speaker Series

404 David Kinley Hall

11/24/2014 | 12:00 pm

Comparative Politics Workshop

404 David Kinley Hall

12/5/2014 | 12:00 pm

Faculty Student Seminar

404 David Kinley Hall

12/20/2014 | 10:00 am

LAS Winter Convocation

Foellinger Great Hall of the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

View all Political Science calendar events